Skip to main content

West Valley City Journal

Incumbents rule West Valley City Council election

Jan 05, 2024 02:08PM ● By Darrell Kirby

Don Christensen (Courtesy West Valley City)

Tom Huynh (Courtesy West Valley City)

Will Whetstone (Courtesy West Valley City)

The makeup of the West Valley City Council will see no changes in 2024. 

The November general election saw voters returning three incumbents to the council. 

In District 1, covering the northeastern part of the city, Tom Huynh was elected to a fourth four-year term on the city council. He defeated first-time Marni Lefevre with 55% of the vote to 45% for the first-time challenger. 

District 3’s Will Whetstone was appointed to his first full term on the council after being appointed in January 2022 to replace Karen Lang, who was elected mayor. Whetstone garnered 57% of ballots cast to runner-up Heidi Roggenbuck’s 43%. He will therefore continue to represent constituents in the northwestern/north-central section of West Valley City. 

“Winning the….election is an honor, but the real success lies in delivering on promises made,” said Whetstone, a 30-year city resident, director of community development with UBS Bank USA, and a part-time member of the Utah Air National Guard. “Over the next four years, my objectives are to foster community engagement, prioritize veterans housing and ensure transparency within West Valley City. I’m excited to hit the ground running,” he added. 

Voters gave Don Christensen a third consecutive term as an at-large representative. He outpaced Sophia Hawkes Tingey 58% to 42%. Christensen also served on the city council from 2009-13 before running unsuccessfully for mayor in 2013. He regained a seat on the council in 2015 where he has been since. 

“I would like to thank the voters for their confidence in my record. I promise that I will do everything possible to continue to move West Valley City forward over the next four years,” Christensen said. 

Each of the councilmembers will be sworn in to their new terms in January. λ